Geography Tourism Mysuru Palace Government Sectors RoadMap
Maharaja's Palace

Designed by the English Architect, Henry Irwin, the Mysuru Palace dominates the skyline of Mysuru.  A three storied structure in the Indo-Saracenic style built between 1897-1912, the palace has beautifully designed square towers at cardinal points, covered with domes.  The Durbar Hall with its ornate ceiling and sculpted pillars and the Kalyanamantapa (Marriage Pavilion) with its glazed tiled flooring and stained glass, domed ceiling are worth noting.  Intricately carved doors, the golden howdah (elephant seat),paintings as well as the fabulous, jewel encrusted golden throne (displayed during Dasara) are amongst the palace's other treasures. The walled palace complex houses the Residential Museum (incorporating some of the Palace's living quarters),temples and shrines including the Shwetha Varahaswamy temple. The palace is illuminated on Sundays, Public Holidays as well as during the Dasara Celebrations when 97,000 electric bulbs are used to illuminate it.

Timings:10am to 5.30 pm daily,Illumination Sundays & Public Holidays :7pm-8pm

Entrance Fee: Adults : Rs. 20, Children(5-10 yrs.) : Rs. 10